The Poet…

A portrait of a poet.

Gurdas Maan is one of the most respected poets and Punjabi singer of all time. I often say that Maan Sb is the most educated Punjabi in the world, not in the count of diplomas and degrees but the knowledge of nature and spirituality. Here’s his latest song about Punjab’s adversities, do listen.

https://goo.gl/RGFdxQ

As I am an aspiring Punjabi Poet myself, here’s an attempt of mine about this moment :

Soorat Utaay Kalam Chalai, Maafi De Dena…
Gurdaasaan Di Moorat Bnai, Maafi De Dena…
Parlay Pavaain Dil Day Konay Char Punjabi Ae…
Yaar Punjabi Ae, Gurdaas Ji, Yaar Punjabi Ae…

Another reason this portrait is special is because it helped me end a 4-month-long art block. You might’ve noticed my absence from the page and lack of reply. It was because of that. I came to think very differently during this period, even questioned if I was cut out to be an artist, a question for another time to answer.

17039003_1384658641595158_4526962555805132905_o

